GSL / International Taxation / Antigua

Antigua tax system - taxation of Antigua companies and individuals: VAT, income tax and capital gains. Tax treaties of Antigua.

Service packages Legislation Tax System Audit Services

Taxes of Antigua

Сorporate tax
Capital gains tax
Withholding tax
Exchange control

Basic taxes (briefly)

Personal tax
Corporate tax (in detail)
The income tax rate is 25%.
Capital gains tax. Details
VAT. Details
Sales tax is similar to VAT. The basic tax rate is 15%.
Other taxes
Social contributions, Property taxes
Government fee
Stamp duty

Personal Income Tax

There is generally no personal income tax.

Depending on their income, sole traders pay tax at the rate of 0%, 8% and 25% (for income up to XCD 42 000 and up to and above XCD 186 000 respectively).

Corporate Income Tax

The corporate income tax rate is 25%.

The rate may be lower for some financial institutions.

CFC Rules

There are no CFC rules in place.

Withholding Tax

The income of non-resident companies sourced in Antigua and Barbuda, including dividends, interest, and royalties, is subject to withholding tax at the rate of 25%.

Withholding tax may also be levied on other payments to non-residents.

Sales Tax

Sales tax is similar to VAT.

The basic tax rate is 15%.

The rate for hotel accommodation is 12,5%.

Social Security Contributions

Social security contributions are payable at the rate of 13,5% (5,75% by the employee and 7,75% by the employer) on the employment remuneration not exceeding XCD 78 000.

Property Taxes

Tax is paid on land. The rates depend on the category and size of the land.

Tax is paid on the market value of real estate; the rates vary from 0,1% to 0,5% depending on the category of the land.

Stamp duty is levied on real estate transactions (7,5% payable by the seller and 2,5% by the buyer), as well as on some other transactions.

International tax treaties

Antigua has entered into 12 Double Tax Treaties (DTC) and 17 Tax Information Exchange Agreements (TIEA) with the following jurisdictions:

12 DTC: Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Jamaica, Grenada, Guyana, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Jamaica, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago..

18 TIEAs: Australia, Belgium, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Greenland, Iceland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Aruba.

Exchange Control

There are generally no significant foreign exchange restrictions.

Special rules apply when making foreign exchange transactions.

Compare Jurisdictions
    Your Consultant
    Поиск консультанта...

    Поиск консультанта...

    Need a consultation from a specialist?
    Share on social media:
    RU EN