GSL / International Taxation / Ireland

Ireland tax system - taxation of Irish companies and individuals: VAT, income tax and capital gains. Tax treaties of Ireland.

Service packages Legislation Tax System Audit Services

Taxes of Ireland

12,5% / 25%
Сorporate tax
Capital gains tax
25% (dividend), 20% (interest), 20% (royalty)
Withholding tax
Exchange control

Basic taxes (briefly)

Personal tax
20% / 40%
Corporate tax (in detail)
12.5% for Trading Income, 25% - Non-trading income
Capital gains tax. Details
Capital gains In Ireland are taxed at 33%. Gains on the sale of substantial shareholdings in companies resident in EU member states or a tax treaty country are exempt if certain conditions are satisfied
VAT. Details
The standard VAT rate is 23%. The reduced rates are 13.5% and 9%
Other taxes
Real property tax, capital acquisition tax, social security contribution
Government fee
Stamp duty

Individual Taxation

Tax residents with a domicile in Ireland pay income tax on their worldwide income.

Non-domiciled tax residents in Ireland pay income tax on income from sources in Ireland and foreign income remitted to Ireland.

Non-residents pay tax on income from sources in Ireland.

The rate of tax is 20% on income up to EUR 36 800 and 40% on the excess.

Capital gains are taxed at a rate of 33% (in some cases other rates apply).

Income tax

Tax residents pay tax on worldwide income; non-residents pay tax on income from sources in Ireland.

The rate of income tax is 12,5% on trading (active) income and 25% on passive income.

Capital gains are taxed at the rate of 33%.

Profits from the sale of shares may be tax-free subject to certain conditions, in particular, if at least 5% of the shares are held within 12 months in respect of active trading companies from EU countries or countries with treaties on avoidance of double taxation.


The standard VAT rate is 23%.

For some goods and services, reduced VAT rates are 13,5% and 9%.

Social contributions

For the bulk of employees, social contributions (PRSI) is 11.05% for employers and 4% for employees.

There are non-taxable minimums.

Universal Social Contribution (USC) is paid by the employee at progressive rates ranging from 0,5% to 11%.

There are nontaxable minimums.

Withholding Tax

When dividends are paid, withholding tax is withheld at a rate of 25%.

There are exceptions. In particular, tax may not be withheld when dividends are paid to companies in countries with a double taxation treaty with Ireland or in an EU member state.

With regard to interest, the tax rate is 20%. However, in many cases no tax is withheld, for example when companies pay interest to companies in countries with a double tax treaty with Ireland or an EU member state.

When royalties are paid on patents and certain other royalties, tax is withheld at the rate of 20%.

Withholding tax at the rate of 15% is withheld with respect to gains from the sale of certain assets.

A withholding tax may also be imposed in certain other cases.

The tax can be reduced under agreements on avoidance of double taxation or EU directives.

Stamp Duty

Stamp Duty is levied on transaction documents.

The base - the transaction amount or market value if it is higher.

Rates range from 1% to 2% for residential property transactions, 7,5% for non-residential property and some other transactions, and 1% for shares (7,5% for shares in some non-residential companies in Ireland).

Capital Acquisitions Tax (CAT)

CAT is a tax on inheritance and gift tax.

The rate of tax is 33%.

There are non-taxable minimums and their value depends on the degree of kinship of the parties.

Property Taxes

Local Property Taxes (LPT) are paid on residential property.

Tax rates range from 0,18% to 0,25% depending on the assessed value of the property.

Local taxes (rates) are also levied on notional rental income from commercial property.

Rates vary from region to region.

CFC rules

A foreign company is deemed controlled if it owns more than 50% of the participatory interest in the capital, or more than 50% of the voting rights, or such interest in the capital that allows to control the formation of the board of directors, or the right to receive more than half of the distributed profits or assets on liquidation.

The profits of a CFC are subject to tax in Ireland if the profits arising from the CFC can be reasonably attributed to the performance of the functions of key people in Ireland or the bearing of the principal business risks in Ireland.

There are various exemptions, including an exemption on the basis of a high effective tax rate, profits below a certain limit, low margins, no purpose of avoiding tax, etc.

International tax treaties

Ireland has signed 76 Double Tax Treaties (DTC) and 23 Tax Information Exchange Agreements (TIEA) with the following jurisdictions:

76 DTCs: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea, Kuwait, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Poland, Portuguese Republic, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, United States of America, Vietnam, Zambia.

23 TIEAs: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, Dominica, Gibraltar, Grenada, Liechtenstein, Macau, Marshall Islands, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Turks and Caicos Islands, Vanuatu.

Ireland has also signed and ratified the Multilateral Convention to Implement Tax Treaty Related Measures to Prevent Base Erosion and Profit Shifting (MLI). The Multilateral Convention entered into force for Ireland on May 1, 2019.

Exchange controls

There are no exchange controls in Ireland.

Compare Jurisdictions
    Your Consultant
    Поиск консультанта...

    Поиск консультанта...

    Need a consultation from a specialist?
    Share on social media:
    RU EN